eFTP or Zwift Ramp test results

I just did a Ramp test and raised my FTP significantly from 220ish to either 230 eFTP or 243 Zwift estimate based on Ramp test.

I know probably folk will say go and do a proper test but assuming I am too lazy etc which figure should I trust?

I suppose I could split the difference and set it as 237.

I would not trust Ramp Test alone i think it over estimate in some matters, so if since we have the eFTP in intervals.icu i would go with your suggestion 237W seems a good balance.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice. I have decided to settle on 230. I cant imagine doing 230 for half an hour so 243 for an hour seems crazily high. Maybe I am just being too cautious but I am worried about doing too much in the grey zone. I have no issue pushing myself when I decide to ride hard so would rather err on the side of caution. The only time I really make an effort to stay in a zone is when I ride slow. I am a proper Noob though. At the moment I am reading “Fast after 50”. I have a book “Training and Racing with a Power Meter” which I will aim to read next. I should have more idea what I am doing eventually. Until then I may continue to ask noob questions. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Interestingly, for me the ramp test is typically 5-10% below the 20-minute test. And it better represents my ability to do TrainerRoad workouts

Thanks Andrii,

I know I should probably at some point do the 20 minute test for reference at least. I try not to test myself too often as I dont enjoy it and also its not very encouraging if you see no improvement or even a poorer result.

I come from a running background and have a lot to learn. I guess the good thing is my previous two tests were both the same Zwift test so if nothing else the improvement is using the same measure.

I will probably re-test in March and may give the 20 minute test a go. It sounds more painful though.