Comparing Efficiency factors from seasons

Hello,
is there a way to get an average of the efficiency factor or even the max for a season to see improvements? I can plot it per day but I I feel that might not show the progress that much since on recovery rides or slow rides the ratio is low. Not sure if it even makes sense to track this, I am still rather new to cycling I am just looking for ways how I can track if “I get better” and efficiency seems like a good metric to look at.

Thank you for the great webpage :slight_smile:

1 Like

You can set a plot for “power/HR Z2” in the fitness graph - this seems like a good way to track over time. I’ve set it up as a 7 day running average

1 Like

Thank you, I was not aware of the 7 day average. That sounds like a great idea.

1 Like

The problem with EF is, as you mentioned, its lack of linearity along the power level.

Dr Seiler introduced a new metric to prevent this.

It is something like percentage of 6 minutes power (trying to model VO2Max power) over percentage of HR reserve.

I created it in Golden Cheetah and it is much more linear, however not perfect.

If I did it, I guess it would take 2 minutes for David to deploy it here. :grinning:

2 Likes

Thats a good one. The decoupling chart at the bottom of the activity power page uses %eFTP and %HRR. I used % eFTP instead of 6m power to make it more general to work for people who haven’t done a 6m max effort. So I would go with %eFTP / %HRR.

The power/HR Z2 metric already implemented has the advantage that is calculated from cleaned up and HR lag adjusted data points.

1 Like

That’s basically the same as my feature request: power / HRR
That would solve the lack of linearity along the power level.

According to what I was getting was not totally linear but much better than the simple NP/HR or even NP/HRR.