BreakAway: Indoor Training (iOS) now supports Outdoor Workouts (Adding GPS to the BreakAway app?)

Kia ora from New Zealand everybody,

This is for BreakAway users, especially for the man himself @app4g

Today I realised that I could take the BreakAway app “off bike” and use it to navigate my running intervals workout. (I assume people usually use a garmin watch for this but as a beginner I can’t justify shelling out the cash at this stage). However the timer and audio prompts from BreakAway work perfectly for this, and of course the icu integration is brilliant. I think I’m on to a winner!

So today I turned on the app while I drove to work, just to see what data it would collect. I was able to collect HR using my verity sense, but no speed/distance numbers were coming through. I assume the app usually takes its speed and distance calculations from the bike sensors? As you’ve worked out by now, I’m wondering if it would be possible to add GPS capabilities so that I could collect that data whilst running?

I’m guessing this could open up another use case for the brilliant BA app which could boost its popularity. Failing this, does anyone know of a different way that I could achieve the above without buying a watch?

Thanks in advance,

Matt

Hi There… Tx for the brilliant words. (a review on the app store would be absolutely fantastic :pray: )

As you’ve succinctly surmised, the app currently does not use GPS (it was created for indoors, so I only did “virtual GPS” and external sensors)

If you had a stryd pod, (and I’m presuming a footpod - I hve a Garmin Footpod - the very old version but it’s ANT+) then it will take Speed and Distance from it.

I’m currently working on getting MOXY supported but i will see how big of a task it is to support GPS (and what hoops I need to go thru w/ Apple Approval)

Location Data is a sensitive thing.

When I was running/cycling without a watch, I used to use cyclemeter app.