Adding a hard day, but which?

Hello everyone. I am new to this fantastic site.

I used to ride a lot but then got more focused on running. Unfortunately I ran so much I got a severe injury. Now I am back at the bike which feels great. I am currently doing zone 2 training only and do 5x 1.5 hours in a week. Besides that I hit the gym. Zone 2 gave me huge benefits in running and I want to incorporate that in my cycling to build a great base. I soon want to add one day of more hard work. I have tried to read up on the subject but it becomes quite overwhelming. Even for me who has done tons of threshhold, HIIT etc with running. I was mainly thinking that replacing one of the five days with hard work would be a great start. Would the Seiler 4x8 be a good starting point? If I understand him correctly a good split would be 4 days of zone 2 and 1 day of high intensity? I know I should have a specific goal but right now that is just about building a great base to be able to do group rides and just being in great shape. I won’t attend races in the near future, but I really enjoy training. My goal is just to become as good as I can at the moment.

Any tips would be very welcome.

Here is my fitness curve. I have been back in the saddle for roughly a week.The work besides that has been tons of high intensity elliptical work. According to the curve a little too much.

1 Like

What are you using to calculate load? Is it HR?
I don’t think it is power, because 7.5 hours Z2 during 8 weeks should bring your Fitness around 45 - 50.
If you have no specific goal at this moment, I would not jump right away to 4*8 VO2max. Opinions will differ, but I would start with a couple of weeks Tempo (sweetspot), where you increase the duration of the SS total time. Then another couple of weeks threshold. Pay more attention to duration/repeatability then intensity. That will give your body a smoother transfer to those high intensities before you hit the hard VO2’s.