Tips for specializing on climbing on trainer

Hey everyone,

I thought maybe it is a good idea to open a topic on this. I am a beginner, did 8 weeks of (basic-)training now (first time in my life). Have very nice increases in realworld performance. Now as I live next to the mountains and I love going up, I have to specialize myself on climbing :).

I have a dumb trainer. I train 3 -5 times a week indoors and will keep doing so, because I just love training on a dumb trainer. I will switch one or two of the easy sessions from the dumb trainer to the outdoors once wheather allows. But training will always be on trainer for me.

Currently I am thinking it would be best to follow a ā€œnormalā€ training plan and do intervals of that training plan at slow rpm (not all of them), to simulate going up (efforts at low rpm).

That is also the only thing I can think of to specialize myself towards climbing on a dumb trainer. For instance, if my training plan says to do 4x5 intervalls and I do them at slow rpm, it is the same as if I would climb for 5 minutes in each of the intervalls ā€¦ at least thats my beginner logic.

Any other ideas, tips what one should do to specifically increase climbing ability?

My goal is to be able to climb the nearest mountain (1k m height difference from home) ā€œfor fun after workā€. Currently I can do the first third ā€œfor funā€, then it gets serious (just to give context).

Regards,
Bernhard

Hi Bernhard,