Newbie Question: Differences between HRLT vs FTP

For background, I’m new to cycling as well as athletics, so still learning the theories as well as my body.

My FTP (as determined by garmin, intervals, xert, moore’s empirical FTP test, etc.) is ~ 150w. Interval’s eFTP is 149w. I suspect this is where a lactate meter would also confirm… but I also don’t think I could sustain 150w for one hour.

My HRLT is always detected very high, intervals today says it’s 181bpm! But I think the reality is closer to 155-165bpm, as that is the pace I feel is comfortable and can do for long periods of time. 165bpm+ I feel like I’m heading towards a brick wall and doesn’t feel sustainable. it certainly doesn’t “feel” like I could keep doing 165bpm+ for an hour. While I’m fairly sure that my zone 2 HR is between 135-140bpm and Z2 power 105-110w and my FTP ~150-155w, I don’t think I yet have a good understanding of LTHR, my feeling says 155-165bpm, but doesn’t seem to align with other power estimates / detections.

If I ride at FTP or even below FTP, my HR goes well above that 155-165 mark, for example just 10 minutes after 145w my HR was 175bpm and climbing … but wouldn’t you think these two things should be fairly well aligned? 145w felt in my legs very “doable” but 175bpm did not, if that makes any sense… like my heart is the weakest link and overcompensating for my legs maybe?

In any case, while I know these two things are different measures, I have to assume there is something valuable in the data regarding what I should focus on for training and improving.

1. Do I need to keep training my endurance / cardio / heart because it’s not as strong as my legs? (i.e. goes very high at FTP) [ My longest ride has been 40 miles, that was without a power meter ]

2. Do I need to train the strength in my legs so they can “keep up” with the high detected HRLT? (i.e. improve lactate clearing or something?)

Don’t say both :slight_smile: thanks for any pointers or references.