Fitness, and form

Hi all,
I started training seriously at the beginning of April after I bought a power meter and a Garmin device. Before then I was doing some rides but I was not recording them and I was rock climbing regularly, but I am not sure this counts as aerobic.
Anyway, the reason I am writing is that I misinterpreted the fitness graph when I started training. I read “Avoid staying in the high risk zone for long or you might become over-trained” and I thought it meant I could stay in the red zone for some time, then go green then back into red. But apparently I got it all wrong.
The result is the following graph:

As you can see, I spent significant time in red.
I’ve now understood (after reading books and talking to Gerald M) that I should not do this or risk overtraining. So I now have several questions.

1. Given my past, is it good if I now stay in green for 3 weeks, then gray for 1 week then green for 3 weeks and so on?

2. how long should I stay in gray? And should I get into gray at the beginning of my recovery week in the middle of it or at the end of it?

3. how do I know if I am now overtrained?

Oh my goodness, 69 weeks without even one single propre recovery period :scream:

• Don’t look at the fitness number as a goal to achieve. It is a help for better planning
  • The max fitness number you will achieve is greatly dependent on the time availability to train
  • Ramp up time with mostly (at least 90%) endurance work until you are at your time limit. Really limit intensity during that phase.
  • Once you are at the limit of your time availability and coping well with all that training, carefully introduce some extra intensity.
  • Once you reached this point, fitness number will no longer grow. But that doesn’t mean that performance will plateau. It means that you have found your longer term load that you can achieve with the available time and that your body can adapt to.