Decoupling during warm up. Why?

Sometimes I get a indicated decoupling of 5-10% during warm up. This can last up to 30-40 minutes before I start to feel OK and can push harder. When this happen, I also feel the warm up is hard. Is this the cause of the decoupling? Warm up too hard?

Hi Markku,

I am not an exercise scientist, or a coach, but I can give you some advice from experience. This is going to be a bit of a long post, apologies, you may already understand all of this, but I think it is worth talking about.

There are quite a few things to unpack here, I am going to assume you are warming up for Aerobic / mid - low intensity. If not I can talk a bit more lower down.

Before we start exercising, the body is usually in a relaxed state, and the Aerobic sytem is offline, and the parasympathetic system is ramped up (rest / digest system). Your heartrate is usually low.

What happens when we exercise

Then when you start to exercise, your sympathetic nervous system ramps up and your Aerobic system ramps up, your heart starts beating faster to pump oxygenated blood to your working muscles, your capillaries dialate to allow more blood flow and a bunch of other physiological things happen to bring up your Aerobic system to start producing power for exercise.

What is Decoupling

I think its impotant to talk quickly about what decoupling actually is. Deocupling is comparing the efficiency in the first half of an activity, with the efficiency in the second half.

Efficiency can be defined in a lot of ways, but often it is the ratio of your output, either pace / power, over your avg HR in the first half of an activity, with your pace / power in the second half (activity could be an interval or whatever length of time you want).

Decoupling = Efficiency1 / Efficiency2 = (Pwr1/ HR1) / (Pwr2 / HR2)

It is often used as a percentage change, so calcuated like this:
Deocupling = (Efficiency1 / Efficiency2 - 1) * 100