Fitness and fatigue in absolute or %

Hello,

I’m wondering something about the red and green Zone in the fitness page. I searched on the forum and on this topic “Form as a percentage of fitness - #19 by James_Jordan” but I’m not sure about the right answer.
i’m training now for months to stay in the green zone in absolute number, yesterday i discovered the % scale. According to the % scale i’m in the red zone since 3 months instead of green zone in absolute number.
My fitness is low compared to the link under, I have 42.
Do I use % scale or absolute with this fitness level ? One tells me i’m in the optimal training zone and the other tells me i’m overtraining.

Thank you

1 Like

I am not sure about this one. I use the % option (my fitness is usually between 60 and 70) because it works out better for me. But if the absolute version was working for you then maybe stick with it.

It’s difficult to say if one works better than the other for me. I’m a beginner in cycling and i’m not used to train with TSS.
I have no idea if I’m doing the right thing or if I’m training to hard. In description of scale % and in the link on my fisrt post, I read % scale is better for people with less than 100 fitness. Maybe the rule or the calcul is not good for fitness < 50 and better for fitness between 50 and 100, I don’t know.

There are so many confounding variables that I think you just need to learn what works for you (or hire a coach). If you are new to cycling your FTP is probably going up fast and if you don’t keep updating that you will get exaggerated load numbers. If you are older you need more time to recover and thats not built into the form calc in any way etc etc.

1 Like

Take two athletes:
A. a Cat 5 or masters rider on relatively restricted hours with a CTL of around 60. Their % form of fitness variable green therefore ranges -6 to -18 (i.e. negative 10-30%)